Skip to main content
The Northern Queensland Primary Health Network (NQPHN) Clinical Councils provide the NQPHN Clinical Governance sub-committee of the Board with contemporary advice on local health needs and priorities ensuring that there is an appropriate evidence base to regional commissioning, specifically, planning and design of services, stakeholder engagement, and continuing development and refinement of the Health Needs Assessment (HNA).

The regional clinical councils provide a critical overview of the NQPHN regions to ensure that overall investment is in line with the regional HNA.

The councils act in an advisory capacity to the NQPHN Clinical Governance Committee which has the delegated responsibility of the NQPHN Board.

Membership of the councils is comprised of GPs, allied health professionals, mental health clinicians, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health professionals, community/practice nurses, and public health/health promotion representatives. They meet four times a year.

Loretta Rigby Interim Cairns, Cape, and Torres Executive Director, NQPHN
Dr Vladislav Matic General Practitioner
Dr Rod Catton General Practitioner
Dr Lynne Reid General Practitioner and JCU Educator
Michael Delaney Community Pharmacist
Ingrid Hagne Community Nurse and Diabetes Educator
Dr Jason King Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Representative
Dr Eddy Strivens Local HHS Representative
Dr Tony Brown Local HHS Representative
Gail Rogers Speech Language Pathologist
Melissa Freestun Townsville Executive Director, NQPHN
Grant Collins Audiologist
Dr Chris Daniel General Practitioner
Sue Devine Public health
Dianne Graham Community Pharmacist
Dr Theunis Kotzee Senior Medical Officer
Shane MacDonald Community Pharmacist
Dr Christine O’Connor Clinical Psychologist
Paul Parker Physiotherapist
Michelle Ramm Occupational Therapist
Professor Gracelyn Smallwood Nurse/Midwife and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander representative
Dr Toni Weller GP and GPLO
Cate Whalan Community Pharmacist
Karin Barron (Chair) Mackay Executive Director, NQPHN
Dr Richard Malone General Practitioner
Allannah Munro Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Representative
Anna Croce Psychologist
Debra Brown Dentist
Dr Konrad Kangru General Practitioner
Karalyn Huxhagen Pharmacist
Kath O’Brien Registered Nurse
Dr Pieter Nel Local HHS representative
Tom McMillan Physiotherapist
Tracey Eastwick Queensland Ambulance Service
16 October 2020